Resolution 2012-04

of the

Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency

A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING JIM ESTOMO TO FILL AN UNEXPIRED TERM OF 1/1/2013 - 1/1/2015 FOR THE VENTURA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION (LAFCo)

ALTERNATE COMMISSIONER SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER

WHEREAS, the Executive Officer of the Ventura Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) has requested the Agency hold a vote to fill a vacancy on LAFCo's Board for an Alternate Commissioner member representing the Independent Special Districts in Ventura County to fill an unexpired term from 1/1/2013 to 1/1/2015, from a list of nominated candidates pursuant to California Government Code Section 56332(c); and

WHEREAS, the Ventura County Independent Special District Selection Committee has adopted Rules and Regulations concerning vacancies on LAFCo and the time for consideration of candidates for appointment; and

WHEREAS, the Rules and Regulations of the Ventura County Independent Special District Selection Committee allow for acceptance of mail-in ballots that have been certified by a resolution from each voting Special District; and

WHEREAS, at the time and in the manner required by law, the Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency having one vote for each LAFCo position as a member of the Special Districts in Ventura County met on July 25, 2012 at a regular monthly Board meeting to cast a ballot as received from the LAFCo Executive Officer; so

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED AND ORDERED, that the Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency Board of Directors adopts the following:

- 1) Jim Estomo was hereby chosen to fill an unexpired term beginning 1/1/2013 and expiring 1/1/2015 as the Alternate Commissioner Member of the Ventura LAFCo representing Independent Special Districts in Ventura County.
- 2) The Agency Executive Officer shall certify by signature below that all balloting procedures specified by LAFCo were handled properly and according to adopted protocols, and the Agency Clerk of the Board shall transmit a signed copy of this Resolution with an attached copy of the FCGMA Board-sanctioned LAFCo Ballot to the Ventura LAFCo Executive Officer.

On motion of Director Michael Kelley, and seconded by Director Charlotte Craven, the foregoing Resolution was passed and adopted on this 25th day of July 2012 by the following vote:

AYES - 5 NOES - 0 ABSTAINS - 0 ABSENT - 0

By:

Chair Lynn E. Maulhardt, Board of Directors Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency

ATTEST: I hereby certify that all required protocols and chain-of-custody procedures involving handling and processing of the LAFCo Ballot were proper and unbroken.

By: Jeff Pratt, FCGMA Executive Officer

ATTEST: Lhereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Resolution No. 2012-04.

Jessica Rivera, FCGMA Temporary Clerk of the Board

(REVISED July 6, 2012) OFFICIAL BALLOT

INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION COMMITTEE Alternate Member to the Ventura LAFCO

Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency

This is the official ballot for the Independent Special District Selection Committee for the purpose of electing **one** Special District Alternate Member to the Ventura LAFCo. The election consists of five candidates (listed below in alphabetical order) for Special District Alternate Member of the Ventura LAFCo to complete an unexpired term ending January 1, 2015 (effective January 1, 2013).

VOTE FOR ONLY ONE CANDIDATE

A minimum of 15 qualified votes must be returned by the deadline to establish a quorum of the Independent Special Districts. Should no candidate receive a majority of the qualified votes received, a subsequent election among the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be conducted.

PLEASE RETURN THIS SIGNED BALLOT, *VIA CERTIFIED MAIL* to the Ventura LAFCo, 800 S. Victoria Avenue, Ventura, CA 93009-1850. All Ballots <u>MUST</u> be signed by the presiding officer of the board and received by 5 P.M. Friday, September 28, 2012 to be considered.

As the President, Chair, or Presiding Officer, I duly certify that the Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency does hereby cast its ballot as follows:

(Please mark the box next to the name of one candidate to cast the District's vote)

"Jim" R.V. Estomo	Channel Islands Beach Community Services District
☐ Elaine Freeman	Rancho Simi Recreation and Park District
☐ George Lange	Conejo Recreation and Park District
☐ Michael Paule	Triunfo Sanitation District
☐ Mary Anne Rooney	Oxnard Harbor District
Cynn E. Mau Mar Board President/Chair (print name)	Board President/Chair (Signature)
7/25/2012	Boald President/Onlan (Signature)
Date	